EDITION: Wilkes County
FAQs PLACE A CLASSIFIED AD ADVERTISE YOUR BUSINESS
54 °
Overcast
Registered Users, Log In Here
Unpopular opinion

antithesis

Posted 11:30 am, 04/23/2021

Despite the obvious challenges, we need good cops and good teachers of all genders, races, and backgrounds. What will Really help the situation is to get more education for everyone, especially cops.


That doesn't change the social issue where an accusation without proof has just as much weight as a video, but I agree with what you're saying. Cops currently get 16 weeks of training, and much of that is in combat training. Very little of it has to do with mental health issues.

One of the major problems is that the average pay in NC for a regular cop is $35,000:


If being a cop required a 2 or 4 year degree, that salary would have to almost double! And we just don't have the money for that.

Which leads us back to the Defund the Police movement... get rid of some of the lower paid cops with little or no education, and replace them with existing mental health professionals.

antithesis

Posted 11:22 am, 04/23/2021

Albert, you're confusing two very separate issues.

The other thread that Foxy started was about using rubber bullets instead of live ammo, and I think she made a great point. Statistically, cops kill close to 1,000 people a year, while less than 50 cops a year are killed while on duty. Rubber bullets seem to be just as effective as live ammo with a much better chance of survival (although not a 100% chance), so if we can save 900+ lives a year with the switch then I fail to see the problem.

In comparison, this thread is about the problems of social outrage by people with no real idea of what's going on. We're in a time where just the suggestion of something inappropriate is enough to get someone fired, or even arrested!

Look at Johnny Depp... lost his jobs, career is all but destroyed, all because his abusive wife decided to lie.

Look at Lisa Alexander... she and her husband both lost their jobs and were made fun of all over the internet, because they had the audacity to ask a non-white man if he had permission to vandalize a neighbor's house.

Foxnose

Posted 4:49 am, 04/23/2021

George Floyd's behavior is not an isolated incident either. I think if you will be honest you will admit that as fleeing and resistance has increased along with assaults on police officers we have seen cops take a more defensive and aggressive posture. There is no more systematic racism than there is systematic anarchy. Races have never been more divided than they are right now, what has changed?

Bestill

Posted 12:00 am, 04/23/2021

What is a nose hook?

ht

Posted 11:56 pm, 04/22/2021

Despite the obvious challenges, we need good cops and good teachers of all genders, races, and backgrounds. What will Really help the situation is to get more education for everyone, especially cops. The system is the problem. They need more support and education, as many police officers in our nation are in potentially dangerous situations and may not get the resources to handle mental health issues or how to talk people down. George Floyd could have been handled SO Much Differently- Chauvin did not need to kneel on him like that- the truly sad thing is that this is not an isolated situation.


Totally agree with you here, Cajahah. People need to be kind to each other.

Cajahah

Posted 7:34 pm, 04/22/2021

This is a bad post.
This could apply to any retail manager.

Be a human with morals and you won't have problems.

Albert Pike

Posted 8:34 pm, 04/22/2021

It's weird that in the "Unpopular Opinion" thread, antithesis points out dangers that police officers face (not just the white cops either),

"I'm just going to say it... if you are a male teacher or a white cop, you are insane. It's not a question of if you will at some point get in trouble, it's a question of when.

It doesn't even have to be true. We are in a time of society that a rumor or accusation has just as much power (if not more) than reality."

And talks about how relatively safe the career is, it's obvious police office face dangers everyday and not just dangers that can lead to injury or death...talk about having your head in up your arse.

antithesis

Posted 7:51 pm, 04/22/2021

Be a human with morals and you won't have problems.


Until you give the wrong kid a bad grade, and they decide to tell people you molested them...

Or give the wrong person a ticket, and they decide to tell everyone that you used racist slurs while doing it...

Cajahah

Posted 7:34 pm, 04/22/2021

This is a bad post.

This could apply to any retail manager.

Be a human with morals and you won't have problems.

shouldawouldacoulda

Posted 6:04 pm, 04/22/2021

Something tells me there were lots of white police officers and male teachers who were able to make it through the day unscathed...

antithesis

Posted 1:11 pm, 04/22/2021

Well, you're talking about taking a city hostage... aka, terrorism.

That's a little different from suggesting that white cops should be afraid to do their jobs for fear of social repercussions.

Foxnose

Posted 7:32 am, 04/22/2021

If I was a cop in any of the liberal cesspools, I would encourage all law enforcement to stack their badges in the street and start making solar panels with the miners. Let the "hood" make earrings, nose hooks and bling out of them. Lay the phone off the hook, park the cars, refuse to respond to emergency calls and see how long it would take for them to either change their minds or destroy each other.

Rosestar

Posted 5:32 am, 04/22/2021

antithesis

Posted 11:58 pm, 04/15/2021

Are you so sure that he did, though? She admitted that she was the one to beat him:


See, that's actually a great example... she accused him of beating her, but all of the evidence shows that she was the abuser. Yet his career is more or less over, called "unhirable" and "radioactive" by studio execs.

brandonthefairchild@gmail.com

Posted 8:39 pm, 04/15/2021

You know whats funny though...
You could tell my wife until you were blue in the face Johnny Depp beat the snot out of his wife.
Dark Shadows would still go in the DVD player if the internet was out.

168Amax

Posted 2:31 pm, 04/15/2021

Agreed Anthi

antithesis

Posted 2:30 pm, 04/15/2021

Source, Connie? I remember false accusations of sexual misconduct my whole life. I suspect that it got a lot worse with the increased use of social media.

CONRAD

Posted 2:07 pm, 04/15/2021

All of this brought to us by the demonRat's mediadogs.

skeptic

Posted 2:02 pm, 04/15/2021

You are more than likely on camera if you are around me.

antithesis

Posted 1:56 pm, 04/15/2021

I didn't even think about commercial drivers, but you're right... I wouldn't do that, either. Uber, Lyft, taxis, driving a bus, food delivery... literally any situation where you might be alone with another person. Or could even be accused of being alone with them, even if you never actually were.

I know that there have been a lot of futuristic movies showing people livestreaming every minute of their lives. I know that the moral of those stories has always been that it's a bad thing, but I think we're at a point in society where it might not be such a bad idea! If not livestreaming, at least recording it somewhere private so that it can be accessed when necessary.

skeptic

Posted 1:51 pm, 04/15/2021

That's two professions I would avoid like the plague. I will not give a woman a ride. I will not meet in a closed office. I'm to the point that If I'm at a recycling center, I stay in my car if there is a woman dumping her recycling until she finishes. For one, it's to easy to accidentally bump into someone. For two, anything can be said. So I just avoid those situations all together.

Your Reply

Your Username:

Your Password:


 
Add Reply
Cancel
Jenny Jones Realty, Inc
Sign Up With the Sign That Sells. Homes,Land,Farms,Investment Properties. Buying,Selling, Call Us. 38 years experience. Jenny & Jerry Jones/Jenny Jones Realty, Inc. 336-838-7229
Advertise your business here for $1/day
This is crazy: in April 2019, the average banner here was seen 996,669 times. And you can advertise your business here for less than $1 /day
GRAND OPENING CELEBRATION @ The Enrollment Center
Come visit us at 72 Boone Trail Rd .across from Paw Paw's BBQ May 17th, May 31st or June 14th from 1pm - 3pm. Let us help review your medicare benefits and determine if your eligible for more.